Heart Murmur


Heart Murmur

Thud-thud. Thud-thud.
You hear that proof?
The thrum of blood,
The living truth
Pushed through my veins
And though it’s weak
The fact remains
My heart still beats
Don’t grieve me yet
Hear the bells toll
Someday, somehow
The grave will call
Inside your arms
I’ll fade away
But not tonight
Tonight, I stay
Through spikes and falls
And tight’ning bands
Pins and needles
On both my hands
And through the un-
     relenting stitch
Falt’ring rhythm
And silent hitch
Thud-thud. Thud-thud.
Forever same
My beating heart
Murmurs your name.

Categories: Poems | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

